• Organizing Committee


  • Philippe Archambault (chair), Université Laval, Canada
  • Jihyun Lee (co-chair), United Nations Environment Programme, Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity
  • Kim Juniper (co-chair), Ocean Networks Canada, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Christopher Cameron, Université de Montréal, Canada
  • Frédéric Guichard, McGill University, Canada
  • Peter Lawton, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Anna Metaxas, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Pierre Pepin, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Paul Snelgrove, Memorial University, Canada
  • Jean-Éric Tremblay, Université Laval, Canada
  • Verena Tunnicliffe, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Fred Whoriskey, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • David Beauchesne, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
  • Elliot Dreujou, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
  • Cindy Grant, Université Laval, Canada


• Scientific Committee


  • Paul Snelgrove (chair), Network Director, NSERC Canadian Healthy Oceans Network, Canada
  • Anna Metaxas (co-chair), Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Peter Lawton (co-chair), Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Linda Amaral Zettler, Josephine Bay Paul Center/Brown Geological Sciences, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Holes, USA
  • Ward Appeltans, UNESCO-IOC, IODE/OBIS & GOOS, Belgium
  • Philippe Archambault, Université Laval, Canada
  • Mark J. Costello, President International Association of Biological Oceanography (IABO), Institute of Marine Science, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Isabelle Côté, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Roberto Danovaro, President, Stazione Zoological Anton Dohrn di Napoli, Italy
  • Evan Edinger, Memorial University, Canada
  • Kristina M. Gjerde, Senior High Seas Policy Advisor, IUCN, Director, Wycliffe Management
  • Jesica Goldsmit, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Université Laval
  • Patrick Halpin, Director of the Geospatial Ecology Program, Nicholas School of the Environment & Duke Marine Lab, Duke University, USA
  • Cornelius Hammer, First vice president of ICES and president of ICES in 2016-2018, Germany
  • Kim Juniper, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Linwood Pendleton, Director of the Marine Ecosystem Services Partnership, Ocean and Coastal Policy Program at Duke University’s Nicholas Institute for environmental Policy Solutions and in August 2014 – International Chair of Excellent, AMURE, Institut Universitaire Européen de la Mer, France
  • Ellen Kenchington, Bedford Institute, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Christopher McKindsey, Institut Maurice Lamontagne, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • David Obura, Director of CORDIO East Africa, Kenya
  • Pierre Pepin, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Martin Solan, Co-convenor WCMB II, National Oceanography Centre, University of Southampton, UK
  • Simon Thrush, Director of the Institute of marine Science, University of Auckland, New Zealand



• Student Committee


  • David Beauchesne, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
  • Elliot Dreujou, Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada
  • Charlotte Whitney, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Tianna Peller, McGill University, Canada
  • Kevin C. K. Ma, Université Laval, Canada
  • Ryan Gasbarro, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Emily Adamczyk, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Remi Daigle, Université Laval, Canada



We would like to acknowledge and extend our gratitude for the significant contribution of Allison Roanne Barter (Canadian Healthy Oceans Network), Matthieu Huot (Université Laval), Kevin Ma (Université Laval), Christian Nozais (Université du Québec à Rimouski), and Brendal Townsend (Dalhousie University)

4th World Conference on Marine Biodiversity

May 13-16, 2018 |  Montréal, Québec, Canada

Join Our Mailing List

Thank you to our main sponsors